fbpx

Hi, I'm Jackie

I'm a Social-Emotional Mentor, specializing in developmental relationships

Jackie Ferris youth mentor


Likes: Dancing to live music, traveling & popcorn
Dislikes: Wearing socks, seafood & winter

For the last 5 years, I have been picking up clues, following what feels right and paying attention to the needs of my community to come up with a plan for the next chapter of my life. When I started searching for more meaningful work, becoming a Social-Emotional Mentor wasn’t on my radar, but I’m thrilled it is where I have landed. I love what I do. 

You can read the story of how and why I started Comrade Morpho at GuelphToday.com.

  • I am kind, empathetic, non-judgemental, easy-going, adaptable, fun(ny), and a little bit weird.
  • I am also responsible, dependable, and trustworthy.
  • I am an introverted, highly sensitive person with ADHD, who has all kinds of coping skills to make it work in a busy, extroverted world.

It is a privilege connecting with mentees on a deep and meaningful level and witnessing them reach their full potential. 

Helpful Details About Me:

  • Degree in Psychology and Fine Art from the University of Guelph (2021)
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters mentor training
  • SafeTALK: Suicide Alertness Training (CMHA)
  • St. John Ambulance Certified
    • First Aid + CPR + AED
    • Mental Health & Wellness in the Workplace
  •  Triple vaccinated
  • Clean driver’s abstract
  • Recent vulnerable sector police checks for my husband and myself
  • Non-smoking household
  • Fully insured 

Descriptions of Me

I felt a little awkward describing myself, so I asked my friends and family on Instagram to help me out.

Here are the results!  

Get to know me a little more...

A young Jackie spreading joy through dance

Beginning

I was born and raised in Fergus, Ontario, and as a result, I enjoy the sound of bagpipes! I have 5 sisters and 2 brothers. My mom passed away from cancer when I was 19, and my dad is still going strong at 95 years old.

Growing up I was a dancer and took ballet, jazz, tap, and modern dance lessons. My childhood best friend, Rachel, lived across the street from me and had a pool, plus, the Fergus Pool was just down the street, so I swam a lot in the summers. Dancing and swimming are still two of my favourite things to do. 

P.S. Rachel is still my best friend! 

Middle

High school was a bit of a slog, but after graduating from C.W.D.H.S., I found my academic stride at Georgian College, where I studied Advertising and Marketing. I did my college co-op placement at 107.5 Dave FM in Cambridge, which turned into a 10+ year career in the promotion and marketing departments of Vancouver radio stations. Through hard work and dedication, I climbed my way up to being the Promotions Director at 102.7 The PEAK. I managed a team of 2 full-time coordinators and 15 part-time street team members. Together we were responsible for creating and promoting fun and engaging contests and events for clients, listeners, and communities.

I had so much fun! 

Jackie, Laura and Richelle, PEAK Promo Team Extraordinaire
Victoria and I collaborated on a video art project during lockdown

Recent

In 2017 I switched gears; ghost-wrote a novel, and did some traveling before settling down in Guelph to be closer to my family in Elora. That’s when I decided it was time to finally pursue my interest in mental health by enrolling in University to study Psychology and Fine Art. In January of 2021, I graduated with honours from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Arts degree.

Some of my favourite Psych classes included: Early Adolescent Development, Education Psychology, Social and Personality Development, and Developmental Psychology. They were incredibly insightful and inspiring courses.

The art studio is where I got to let loose and express my creativity. I had so much fun in my Sculpture, Digital Media, Drawing, and Conceptual Art classes.

Now

Much to my surprise and delight, I ended up meeting the love of my life while in University. It was love at first sight for me but I was shy, so when Christian finally asked me out, I was over the moon with excitement. Our first date lasted 3 hours at the Red Brick Cafe and next thing we knew, we were eloping in Austria to exchange rings and vows in a beautiful playtower.

We have been happily married since July 2019. We live in a cute little condo in the Ward near downtown Guelph. When I’m not with mentees, I’m at home working on creative projects, or catching up with friends and family. Christian is an artist and a professor at the University of Guelph. He is currently working on his first full-length graphic novel, and he graciously did the drawings for my website! Lately, there have been discussions about adding a cat (or two) to our home.

My husband and I celebrating after exchanging rings in a Snøhetta playtower

Let's Chat

Reach out to schedule a time for us to have a casual, no pressure consultation. I’d love to get to know you, and hear about your current challenges and goals, and for us to discuss how mentoring could help.